God and Pop culture

Can you guess what my five favorite things in the world are?  Probably not, so I will just tell you…

  1. God
  2. Pop Culture
  3. Theology
  4. Philosophy
  5. Blogging

There we go, my top five favorite things in the world (and don’t get all technically, telling me God isn’t a “thing”, we both know what I mean here).  Why does any of this matter?  Well it doesn’t really, but since you are reading this I’m going to assume that you want to know.  I want to go get my masters in pop culture and then get a doctorate in theology so I can write books that combine philosophy (my BA will be in philosophy and religion), pop culture, and theology.  But, if I never get a book published and I’m just a kick-butt church guy who knows way too much trivia about star wars, that’s okay too.  Hopefully I’ll find a job that will be able to pay back my outrages student debt I will graduate with.  The only two schools I can find that even offer Masters in pop culture are Arizona State and Bowling Green.  Arizona State’s program is offered online which I find to be a big plus; if we’re still planting a church after I graduate from Shawnee, it offers the freedom to go wherever I am called.  Also, it is only a one year program, so that’s a major plus.

So with that in mind, I think I’m going to start writing my blogs about those three subjects (Philosophy, Pop Culture, Theology).  I already write a majority of my stuff on those topics, so it’s not really gonna be any type of stretch.  If you have any topic suggestions, drop them in the comment box below.  I think I’m gonna start keeping a weekly pop culture column over @ The Blessed Rebellion.  So again, if you’re not following us over there, you’re doing it wrong!

Leave a Reply

