Rise of the Planet of the Apes

I’m a pretty big fan of the original Planet of the Apes film, with that said I wasn’t really expecting a whole lot when I dragged my sister to go see the new prequel/reboot, “Rise of the Planet of the Apes”.  But I mess say, I was pleasantly surprised.

Going into it, I thought for sure I knew what the movie was going to be about.  I mean, the title does kind of give it away… but at the same time it’s probably not what you’re gonna expect.  For starters, the trailer leads you to believe that James Franco is the star of the film, and sure he is the most prominent actor in the film, but the star of the movie isn’t even a human, it is a CGI chimp, Caesar.  The CGI in this film is insane, and I don’t think this film would have been half as good had it not have such great effects.  Even though Caesar doesn’t speak (well, actually…) you can tell exactly what he is thinking and feeling just by reading the emotions on his face.  There were several times throughout this film, that I actually felt emotionally attached to the chimp… and couldn’t help but root for his chimp uprising (despite the fact that I know it ends in slavery of the human race).

I was honestly expecting Rise of the Planet of the Apes to serve as a pseudo-liberal agenda film about civil rights and animal testing.  And while the movie probably does have an effect on how some feel about animal testing, it wasn’t about that.  Caesar wasn’t a stand in for black civil rights leaders like the 1970’s film was, Caesar was battling the sentiment that humans thought they were the only ones who mattered on the planet.  Some of the things that happened to Caesar throughout the film really made you feel for this completely fictional character.  By the end of the film, I didn’t know if I was rooting for the Chimps or the Humans.

Overall, Rise of the Planet of the Apes is a really good reboot in a world where most reboots are terrible.  If you want to go see this film, then do it!  If you’re hesitant about seeing it, go make plans to, it will not disappoint!

Leave a Reply

