I Am Not But I Know I AM

So for the third year, I spent my summer break working at Scioto Hills Christian Camp in southern Ohio.  And as usual, God has taught me so much over such a short period of time.  This was definitely a very tough summer for me, emotionally and spiritually.

I struggled with a lot of things over the last eight weeks while I was at camp.  One of the things I struggled with the most, was having a burden for the “unsaved”.  The doctrine of Hell is something that I fully affirm, and right now it is being hotly debated among many Christians.  Of course, I have always wanted to see children turn to Christ and live for him… but have I always had a burden for them?  I’m not sure.  I can honestly say that now, I do.  It’s something that I don’t like to spend a lot of time thinking about and dwelling on, the fact that more then likely… some of the people who I interacted with this summer may end up in Hell where they are tortured for all eternity.  That bothers me greatly.

Patience is another thing that I really seemed to learn a lot about.  Not really from having to deal with campers all summer, I have patience with nine year olds, I mean come on they’re nine.  But learning patience with people my own age.  It’s hard for me to put up with a lot of stuff that my peers do and I will usually sweep it under the rug until it goes away, and that’s not really patience or how the bible tells us to handle situations.

There is so much more that I learned this summer that I’m not going to go into here and now.  I’m sure it will pop up in future blog posts (so stay tuned!).  But it was a very fulfilling summer at camp and I can’t wait to see what the Lord has in store for me next.

 

 

Leave a Reply

