I’m Just Another Soul for Sale… Oh, Well

It’s time for me to admit to something I don’t like discussing very much.  Not because I’m embarrassed or ashamed of it, but because of the reactions people give when you say it.  I’m a pro wrestling fan.  There, I said it.

Yes, I know that it’s “fake”… I’m not retarded.  I’ve never met someone over the age of 5 who honestly thinks it’s “real”.  That’s usually the first thing people ask when you say you like pro wrestling.  “Why?  You know it’s all fake, right?”  As if fakeness is suppose to hurt entertainment value?  Seinfeld and Friends were both “fake”, did that mean they aren’t worth watching?  Of course not.  It’s entertainment.  It’s no different then watching a sitcom or going to a play.  Yes it’s scripted, but that doesn’t make it any less entertaining.

I’ve liked wrestling since I was just a little hulkamaniac and unlike most children who watched wrestling, I just never grew out of it.  It’s really the same formula the Romans used for the gladiators.  Two competitors, thousands of fans in a stadium rooting for the good guy to defeat the bad guy.  It’s really at the core of our being.  For the most part, fans want to watch the good guy defeat the bad guy.  For years, millions of people would tune in every Monday night to watch this.  Thousands of people would shell out $40 a month to watch the good guy take on the bad guy.  You see these guys 8 – 15 times a month, you develop emotional attachments to these characters in the same way you do for the characters of Harry Potter or Friends.  It keeps you coming back for more.

One more final to go!

Don’t forget to “Like” us on Facebook! Theory of The Phil

2 responses to “I’m Just Another Soul for Sale… Oh, Well

Leave a Reply

