Scream!

I love horror films, I don’t know how I got my love for them seeing as how I grew up as a kid who was scared of everything.  But for whatever reason, I absolutely love scary movies.  My favorite scary movie of all time? Halloween (1978).  Everything about that movie, especially for the time, was truly scary. The story, the killer, the directing, the acting, and the soundtrack all lent to the overall fear the movie produced.  The soundtrack I believe added so much to Halloween, and of course with John Carpenter directing it was bound to be a fear fest.  Halloween 2 was pretty good, but it just went down hill from there.  Recently, another scary movie franchise has made it’s long awaited return to the big screen, Scream.

Scream is my generations great horror franchise, not only is it a good slasher film but it also speaks to my generation.  My generation is so disenchanted with the supernatural killer who keeps coming back and back and back, Scream doesn’t do that.  Scream points out the horror film “rules” that we all know about and pokes fun at them.  Scream 4 is special because it not only has to deal with the classic horror film rules, but also the new rules that the original Scream produced.  Wes Craven always does a good job with this franchise when it comes to not letting us figure out who the killer is until the very end.  A tradition that continues in Scream 4.

All in all, Scream 4 is probably the best slasher film since 1997’s Scream 2.  And it does so without having to “reboot” the franchise like Friday the 13th, Nightmare on Elm Street, and Halloween had to resort to doing in the last several years.  I’m looking forward to the possibility of another two movies to complete a second Scream trilogy.  When it’s all said and done, I give Scre4m a 8.5 out of 10.

Make sure to visit Theory of the Phil on Facebook!

Leave a Reply

