Wade Through The Depths and Bring Me Back

So here I sit looking at the traffic lights
The red extinguishes the hope that the green ignites
I want to run away I want to ditch my life
Cause all of my mistakes keep me awake at night

I see all around me these guys who claim to know Christ, and call themselves Christians.  And it seems to me that these same guys use their “relationship” with Christ almost as a pick-up line.  They know that girls look for guys who love God, so thats the role they play in public.  But in private, they don’t live out the words that they speak.  It is by far my biggest annoyance I have, guys who use God to get girls.  And because of it, I feel a ton of pressure.  I feel this pressure to not only be a man of God, but to be set apart from the guys who use God to their benefit.  It’s hard to see people look to these guys as the proto-typical “Christian Guy” here at Shawnee.  I almost feel as if I am getting a bad reputation because of these guys who are abusing their relationship with Christ.  So I feel this pressure to be this perfect guy in every aspect, almost to make up for everyone else.

And I shouldn’t be putting this pressure on myself.  Christ has called me to be holy, and while it’s impossible for me to be perfectly holy while I’m still on earth with my sinful nature, it should be what I’m striving for at all times.  And I should be striving for this goal because Christ has called me to this goal, not for any other reason.

Leave a Reply

