I’m 20 and Invincible

So here I am, twenty years old.  Far removed from “childhood” and two years into “adulthood” with that weird adolescence in between.  I’ve decided to look at what I’m doing now and what I would have been doing when I was last a “child” which I would say 12, because when you turn 13 you’re now that awkward teenager.  When I was twelve I was playing Gamecube and worried about not finding a pokemon card I always wanted.  Now I’m twenty and I’m playing xbox 360 and worried about not finding the wife I always wanted.  Pokemon and women have a lot in common, it’s hard to find good ones and trying to will drain you of all your money.  When I was twelve I wanted to be a video game designer and create problematic worlds for gamers to solve.  Now I’m twenty, I want to be a social worker and I realize how problematic the world is and I want to solve it.  In 2002 my favorite TV show was Dragonball Z, now my favorite TV show is The Office.  In 6th Grade I didn’t ever want to go to school, now I occasionally want to go to class.  In 2002 I was watching the first Harry Potter movie, now I’m watching the last Harry Potter movie.  When I was 12 I was reading comic books, now I’m 20 and I’m reading books about doctrine and theology.  My biggest worry then, making sure my Animal Crossing town was clean.  Now, I’m worried about what I’m going to do for the rest of my life.

Have I grown up?  Yeah.  Have I grown old?  Nope!

Leave a Reply

