In 1973

I would call you up every Saturday night
And we both stayed out ’til the morning light
And we sang, “Here we go again”
And though time goes by
I will always be
In a club with you
In 1973
Singing “Here we go again”

I think everyone has that moment in time they wish they could stay in forever, I know I do.  It’s not because my life was better then, looking back my life is so much more then it was years ago.  But I still can’t shake the longing for another time, of course back then I couldn’t wait to get away and move on.  I think that’s always how it is, retrospectcally (is that even a word?  It is now).  I can’t really remember a time where I was thinking “boy, I want to live in this moment forever!”, it’s always years later looking back that you realize what you had and what you miss.

The stark, pedestrian images used by filmmakers expressed nothing, symbolically or metaphorically.  The only purpose they served was to remind me that a huge chunk of my life is completely over, even though I will probably live 60 more years.  There are so many things that will never happen to me again, and I never even noticed when those things stopped occurring.  And this does not mean I wish I had my old life back, because I like my new life better; I was just shocked to discover how much of what used to be central to my existence doesn’t even matter to me anymore.

Leave a Reply

