Words Are Flying Out Like Endless Rain Into A Paper Cup…

All you need is love, love.

I don’t understand all these requirements to be in a long-term relationship with someone.  Lately I keep hearing people who say things like “I wouldn’t date a guy who didn’t graduate college”,  “I wouldn’t date a guy who was shorter then me”, or “I wouldn’t date a girl who weighs more then 200 lbs”.  All I can say to that is what the heck.  If you love someone, none of that stuff should matter.  I don’t know, maybe I am just a hopeless romantic… I understand that you must be attracted to any potential spouse, but shouldn’t that attraction come from who they are, not what they look like.  I feel like physical attraction falls into place after you get to know them.  The objection is usually along the lines of “Yes love is important, but you have to be willing to work through the difficult times and have stuff in common and be able to effectively communicate.”  Well all of those should be attributes of true love.  I think our problem is not with love, but the fact that we don’t know what true love is.

We’ve confused the word love with infatuation. It’s more than a passing statement. Its everlasting and can’t happen when the heart’s corrupt, because real love is much more than butterflies in your stomach. We must learn that love is perfect, it never will fail.  The world’s confused and seems to have a distorted view; most think love’s a sweet kiss, a nice statement in time. But don’t know that love is sacred, its patient and kind. It’s not filled with sinful jealousy, doesn’t brag and boast, it’s priceless and can’t be bought. It’s so true. it’s not rude. it doesn’t seek its own, it’s selfless, it’s not easily angered, keeps no record of wrongs. It forgives, it’s a blessing and forever is strong. It doesn’t delight in evil but it likes the truth. It’s liberating never fading and it’s righteous too. It always protects, always trusts, hopes, and perseveres.

So Jacob served seven years to get Rachel, but they seemed like only a few days to him because of his love for her. – Genesis 29:20

3 responses to “Words Are Flying Out Like Endless Rain Into A Paper Cup…

  1. Phil I totally have to agree with you. I know I have been guilty of trying to put physical attraction before really loving a person. I think it’s something God really needs to teach us and we also need to realize that the one person we are supposed to fall in love with will be the one he chooses. That person may not be who we have in mind but if it’s God blessed we will love them regardless.

  2. Phil you are a hopeless romantic…you make good points but i think is more to the story of it all when a girl says “I wouldn’t date a guy who is shorter then me.” like if you take it at face value yeah thats not right but i think that there is deeper thought behind that statement.

Leave a Reply

