The (Unadjusted) Gospel

Together for the Gospel (T4G) 2010 was unquestionably the best Christian conference/gathering type event I have ever been apart of, bar none.  It was so amazing!  I’m not sure if I will be able to communicate how much of a blessing this conference is to me.  It was and is exactly what I needed at this time in my life.  The theme of the conference was “The (unadjusted) Gospel”, the main speakers at T4G were Thabiti Anyabwile, Mark Dever, Ligon Duncan, John MacArthur, C.J. Mahaney, Albert Mohler, John Piper, R.C. Sproul, and Matt Chandler.  Any one of these men could have been a keynote speaker at their own conference, that’s how solid each one of these guys are.  Some of these guys, such as Thabiti, Dever, and Chandler I have never heard, but now that I have heard them, I will count myself among their fans!

Tuesday’s speakers were Dever, Sproul, and Mohler.  If that was the whole conference, I would have left satisfied!  Mark Dever spoke on how the Church needs to be making the gospel visible to the community.  Sproul wasn’t at the conference but spoke via satellite about defending and confirming the gospel and everything he’s learned in his 50 years of ministry.  The Evening session was headed by Mohler who spoke on 8 trajectories of adjusted gospels, or false gospels.

Wednesday I believe was the best day.  It started off with Thabiti Anyabwile speaking about how to engage the culture and how doing it wrong can adjust the gospel.  Thabiti was one of my favorites, I’ve never heard him before but found him very insightful and humerus.  Next came Johnny Mac himself, John MacArthur.  He preached on Mark 4 and called it the theology of sleep.  It was a new way (for me anyways) to look at the parable of the sower and very much enjoyed it.  Before the final speaker on Wednesday, we were treated to a impromptu Rap concert from the rapper Shai Linne, it was the first time I really listened to him, and he was legit.  Wednesday was rounded out by the man I was most excited to see, John Piper.  Piper was suppose to speak on “Did Jesus Preach the Gospel of Evangelicalism?” but at the last minute changed it to “Did Jesus Preach Paul’s Gospel?”.  This was by far the best of the week.  I feel that all 7,000+ men had the feeling that they were listening to a historically significant message that night from Piper.  I felt like I was punched in the gut, and it was awesome.

Finally Thursday arrived and we were treated to Ligon Duncan, Matt Chandler, and CJ Mahaney.  If you have never listened to Matt Chandler before, I highly suggest you do.  His story is amazing and really shows how much he trusts God.  It was very encouraging to listen to him speak.

So 19 free books, 1 free ESV study bible, and a uncountable wealth of knowledge later I am so thankful to be blessed enough to be able to attend this conference.  I know that it has really moved me.

Leave a Reply

