There’s a story at the bottom of this bottle, and I’m the Pen

Night Owl: But the country’s disintegrating. What’s happened to America?  What’s happened to the American dream? The Comedian: It came true. You’re lookin’ at it.

No, this blog is not about the healthcare bill; so if that’s what you expected when you saw the picture, you might as well not even read further.

It seems to me that in the 1950’s America essentially went to sleep and had “The American Dream”, where a boy meets a girl, they fall in love, they buy a house in the suburbs,  shortly after they have kids and follow it with a puppy.  But that isn’t the reality we were dealt.  Don’t believe me, just look at the decades that followed the 50’s: the 60’s, the 70’s, the 80’s, etc etc.

According to a study, 51% of boys between the ages of 11 – 14 feel that it is okay to force a girl to have sex with them if he spent a lot of money on the girl.  Thats a horrifying number to me, but not nearly as horrifying as the fact that 41% of girls believe that it’s okay too.  This is what kids in middle school and going into high school think!  I don’t have the numbers, but I could almost guarantee that the percents don’t go down once they are in high school.  Is this what we are teaching our children, that sex is okay if a lot of money is spent?  We are turning our daughters into first class prostitutes!

Of course I don’t think any parents are telling their children that its okay to have sex if a lot of money is spent on a date, but our society is.  How many times have you heard the joke about giving a girl diamonds, or any type of jewelry for that matter?  Look at the shows on TV, a lot of them have to deal with single guy taking a girl out on a date followed by a romantic encounter.  It is so common that nobody hardly notices it any more.

College is used as a launching pad to land a job to make a lot of money.  I know what you’re thinking “duh!”, well as a Christian that’s not how I see it.  We should be using our education to get a job that glorifies God, whatever it may be.  If that’s a counselor, Physical therapist, teacher, social worker, whatever it may be it doesn’t matter.  What matters is that you are glorifying God.  I heard many people say, some Christians, that they would drop out of school if they won the lottery, like college is just used to make money.  You can spend your whole life stacking up dough, but when you die not a dime is going to go.

I greatly admire my friend Bethany for this reason.  She wants to be a doctor one day, and if you’re not familiar with that, becoming a doctor takes a lot of work and a lot of school.  But she wants to go into missions with that, and I think it’s awesome that she wants to take a job that in America is one of the best paid jobs and go into the missions field where she will almost solely rely on God for her financial support.  I just think that’s awesome!

Don’t get me wrong, I am not saying it’s wrong to have a job where you make a lot of money.  If God has called you to a profession where you make a good amount of money, that’s awesome.  He has given you more tools to glorify him with.  Do work son!

I guess what I’m trying to get at is, the old American Dream is a wholesome family, family values, that stuff.  Now it seems that our dream (as a society mind you) revolves around money and sex.  That’s not the prototypical American Dream I want to become reality.

3 responses to “There’s a story at the bottom of this bottle, and I’m the Pen

  1. Totally agreed man! In Philosophy the other day we were talking about the meaning of a date these days, most guys said getting some. The girls were no better cuz they answered, “A date is the man taking me out for something nice, and if he treats me to nice evening and has me wanting to go with him then he’ll definately get a reward”…..prostitution lol. Good blog.

Leave a Reply

