My failures do not define me

I think it turned ten o’clock but I don’t really know
And I can’t remember caring for an hour or so
Started crying and I couldn’t stop myself
I started running but there’s no where to run to
I sat down on the street took a look at myself

If you just looked at my failures, I would be one pathetic person.  Failure at high school, job force, girls, you name it I failed at it.  And for awhile it really had me down.  But then I started looking at things from a different point of view.  Everything I have failed at has led me to where I am today.  If I did well in high school, I probably would have went to Ohio State University.  There is nothing wrong with that school, but I never would have moved to Portsmouth and never would have met the people I know now.  I never would have met Dylan, and I probably never would have started living for Christ.  But at the time of my graduation, I could only see my failure as a high school student; I couldn’t possibly see where it was going to take me.

If I probably dated just one of the girls that I wanted to date in high school, I would probably have a baby right now.  Praise God he didn’t allow me to be a ladies man in High School (haha!).  If all my high school friends wouldn’t had started ignoring me my senior year, I might have gotten into some stuff and no telling where I would be today.  But again, at the time of all this, I couldn’t see where it would all take me!  But that’s why we have to have faith in God.

This is probably a bad metaphor, but I’m going to try it anyways.  God is like at the end of time looking back at us, he knows how everything is going to work out, he planned everything to work out a certain way.  Now he is getting us to where he is.  And we can’t see where these things will lead.  The bible tells us that all things work out to the benefit of the believers (Romans 8:28).  So why is it so hard for us to believe it will?  I’m dealing with something right now that isn’t going the way I want it to.  I just have to have faith that no matter what comes of it, it’s the way God wants it.  And I need to be at peace with it (Job 22:21).

Leave a Reply

