Sociology…What’s that mean?

So as a College student, I often get asked what my major is, a common question posed to all of us.  And for all of you who do not know, I am a sociology major.  I know what you are thinking, soci-what-ology?  I get that responce a lot, so I decided to right a breif blog that explains sociology to all my loyal fans.

Sociology is a branch of social sciences that uses systematic methods of empirical investigation and critical analysis to develop and refine a body of knowledge about human social structure and activity, sometimes with the goal of applying such knowledge to the pursuit of social welfare. Its subject matter ranges from the micro level of face-to-face interaction to the macro level of societies at large.  The study of human social behavior, especially the study of the origins, organization, institutions, and development of human society.

Now usually after I explain Sociology to someone, the next question I get is another common one, what can I do with a degree in Sociology?  Well I can basically do the same thing that a degree in Psychology can do, go to grad school.  I on the other hand do not want to go to grad school.  I want to become a youth pastor, so I might decide to go to Seminary instead of grad school.  But who knows, I still have 3 or 4 years to figure that out!

Leave a Reply

