If the world hates you, know that it has hated me before it hated you.

So I was a member of an online message board, and it was centered around spirituality, and things along that nature.  I was one of few “Christians” (and for sure the only reformed Christian with a biblical worldview).  I wasn’t rude and tried my best to share the gospel and answer questions with humility and grace, although admittedly I can be rather blunt at times.  Well today I got a message from the person who runs the message board telling me I was getting banned.  I checked the rules of the forum, and I hadn’t broken any!  She said that I made users feel uncomfortable and people were complaining.  Well good, they should feel uncomfortable.  Christianity isn’t always a lovey-dubby faith, our God is a God of love yes, but he is also a just God.  At first, I was pretty upset about it, I feel like I was planting seeds to be watered and I was getting kicked out.  But I remembered what Jesus said in John 15: If the world hates you, know that it has hated me before it hated you.  And I just thought, “Wow, Jesus probably dealt with this kind of stuff all the time.”  We get it pretty easy here in America, sure we can discriminated against a little bit here and there, but nothing to the degree of Jesus or his followers, or even Christians in other countries.  It was very encouraging.

Leave a Reply

