The Colors Change in the Valley Skies

Let’s say we take this town
No king or queen of any state
Get up to shut it down
Open the streets and raise the gates
I know one wall to scale
I know a field without a name
Head on without a care
Before it’s way too late

I am a sociology major at Shawnee State, and I have no idea what I want to do with my life.  Which, judging from my talks with others, is perfectly normal for a sociology major.  I know that I want to serve the lord, that much I know.  But then I think to myself, I can serve the lord in everything I do; which doesn’t help me figure out what I want to do.  I use to want to be a Youth Pastor, and I still do kinda.  I just don’t know if that is my calling.  I mean, I’m messed up enough as it is, should I really be guiding the youth in their spiritual growth?  Then again, maybe that is just Satan getting to me.

Another thing that I have been thinking lately is becoming a missionary after college.  I have three very close friends who are consideringgoing into the mission field for 2 or 3 years this summer.  And as much as I would miss them (they are like family to me, probably even closer), I wish I was graduating this summer so I could go with them aswell.  I know I could take time off from college and go, but I know myself better than that and if I did that, I don’t think I could make myself come back to school.  And I think spreading the gospel across the world would be one of the most amazing things anyone could do.

And finally, I’d just like to give thanks to the Lord for keeping my friend Luke safe in his car crash Thursday night.  Luckily I didn’t see the photos of the car until after I knew he was okay, if I would have saw them before I knew he was okay, I would have thought for sure he was seriously hurt.  But thanks to the Lord, Luke is the same old Luke (plus a little concussion).  It’s so amazing how hard Satan will try and get us, and the Lord will just keep bringing us back.

For every piece to fall in place
Forever gone without a trace
Your horizon takes its shape
No turning back, don’t turn that page

Leave a Reply

